## **Announcement**

## **2015 Outstanding Young Researcher Award (OYRA)**

The AKPA Award Committee thoroughly reviewed all documentation submitted for its consideration in support of the candidates. The committee also conducted its work through numerous discussions by telephone and email to select two awardees this year, with the strong grateful support from KPS. The successful OYRA candidates would especially demonstrate their potential for: (1) creative, substantive advance in their own subfield in physics; (2) a professional success as a physicist. After exhaustive and careful review, the five members of the committee unanimously recommends Dr. Donghui Jeong from the Pennsylvania State University and Dr. Donghun Lee from the University of California, Santa Barbara for the 2015 OYRA winners. 2015 OYRA will be awarded during the Forum on International Physics reception scheduled 6~8pm, Tuesday, March 3, at Bowie AB Room of Grand Hyatt San Antonio in San Antonio, TX. Please join the reception and help honor these awardees



Dr. Donghui Jeong is a theoretical astrophysicist who specializes in extracting cosmological information from the large-scale structure observations such as distribution of high redshift galaxies and anisotropies of cosmic microwave background radiation. He received a B.S. degree in 2002 from KAIST in Daejeon, Korea, a M.S. degree in 2004 from the same university, a Ph.D. in 2010 from the University of Texas at Austin. After working as a postdoctoral scholar at California Institute of Technology (from 2010 to 2011), and Johns Hopkins University (from 2011 to 2014), Jeong joined the faculty of the Pennsylvania State University in 2014 as an Assistant Professor of Astronomy & Astrophysics.



Dr. Donghun Lee is an experimentalist in the field of quantum optics and condensed matter physics. He is currently an associate researcher at University of California, Santa Barbara focusing on diamond nitrogen-vacancy centers coupled to mechanical resonators. Before moving here, he did postdoctoral research at Yale University in the field of cavity optomechanics. He earned Ph.D. degree at Ohio State University with scanning tunneling microscopy on single dopants in semiconductors. His research interests lie at quantum interface between mechanical oscillators and defects in the solid state. His research topics cover from magnetic dopants in semiconductors, diamond nitrogen-vacancy centers to cavity optomechanics. Related work has been published in high impact scientific journals such as Science and Nature Communications.

## **AWARD COMMITTEE:**

Prof. Kyungseon Joo (University of Connecticut. & DOE), Chair

Prof. Taekjip Ha (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

Prof. Philip Kim (Columbia University)

Prof. Kyoungchul (KC) Kong (University of Kansas)

Prof. Youngho Seo (University of California, San Francisco), Sec.